What are the Chances a Doctor Can Lose His/Her License Due to DUI?
While the chances of losing your medical license after being charged with a DUI can be quite high, that doesn’t necessarily mean that all hope is lost. In fact, The Telegraph released a report in 2013 claiming that hundreds of doctors convicted of driving-related crimes are still practicing law today.
Hundreds of Doctors Kept Their Licenses after a DUI Charge
The article released by The Telegraph had a strong negative connotation against the fact that convicted felons were still practicing in the medical field. But if you’re a doctor or other medical professional who simply made a mistake, this can be good news for your career.
The General Medical Council released criminal records of 761 doctors who were still in practice. Between them, they had 856 criminal convictions. They included:
- 1 doctor who took indecent photographs of a child
- 2 doctors with convictions for possessing child pornography
- 2 charges of drug trafficking
- 3 charges of grievous bodily harm
- 3 charges of possessing dangerous weapons
- 4 doctors who drove under the influence of drugs
- 7 cases of soliciting prostitution
- 12 doctors charged with domestic violence
- 31 doctors charged with assault
- 184 charges of dangerous driving
- 330 charges of drunk driving
Most doctors with criminal convictions are suspended for a certain amount of time. They are typically allowed to return to work, but it is under extremely strict conditions.
Your State Laws Can Play a Huge Role
WalletHub analyzed all U.S. states to determine which ones are historically more strict about DUIs and which ones are more lenient. For medical professionals living in the Kansas City area, this can be a huge factor in whether or not they can keep their license.
For example, the state of Kansas was ranked as the #6 strictest state, with the #6 most intense penalties against the crime. Meanwhile, Missouri was ranked as the #25 strictest state, with only the #39 most intense penalties:
- In Kansas, the minimum jail time for the first conviction is 2 days, the DUI is an automatic felony on the third offense, the minimum fine for the first conviction is $500, and the average insurance rate increase after the DUI is 46%.
- In Missouri, there is no minimum sentence for the first conviction, the DUI is an automatic felony on the third offense, there is no minimum fine for the first conviction, and the average insurance rate increase after the DUI is 39%.
They article also found some key statistics about DUIs in America and across states. Among those were:
- The average fine for a first DUI is $347. The average fine for a second DUI is $757.
- In 14% of states, your driver’s license will not be automatically suspended upon being arrested for a DUI. In 58% of states, it will be suspended for 90 days.
- In 37 states, alcohol abuse assessment and/or treatment is mandatory after being convicted of a DUI
- DUI offenses stay on your criminal record for at least six years in 80% of states, but they remain for life in five states
In the Kansas City area, the state that administers your conviction will greatly impact the severity of your punishment and even the likelihood of retaining your license after being convicted.
Work with Attorneys Experienced on Both Sides of State Line
The experienced legal team at Sandage Law has assisted medical professionals both in Kansas and Missouri. They closely understand the legal nuances of each state and can tailor your case strategy accordingly. Schedule a free consultation today to learn how they can help you.